RSS

Daily Archives: 17/11/2009

Of Bitter Farewells ,broken promises,tears and the loss of House MD

This might be my last post about House (well,at least until the next super idiotic thing happens)

I haven’t watched the 8th episode, Jennifer Morrison’s/Cameron’s last, Teamwork but I watched a few of the scenes, watched the heartbreaking scene between Cameron and House.

I cried today watching that scene, it ruined my day (as pathetic as that sounds).
The only time I cried at a movie/tv show was when I was little,less that 7 I think and I was watching La Piovra(an italian tv show of the 80s-early90s about the fight with the mob)and this character called Corrado Cattani ,was killed in a horrible and brutal way ,gunned down by a wall. I remember that I cried the whole night then not because he was brutally murdered but because I thought that,since he was the title character at that time, the show was over. It was in fact not over but I didn’t know squat about seasons and stuff like that. I will always remembered how I cried about that show, it was the first show that got me hooked and I watched it ,the first 5 or 6 series, a couple of times since then (now my fav character is Tano,the mobster LOL).

Back to House and Cameron’s departure now. Honestly I don’t even know what to say, I am very disappointed, it was one of the reasons I cried. The last scene was good but it marks the end of a story that never began,the end of a character that grew so much,that evolved and shared a special connection to House(even in that last scene we got a glimpse of just how well she knows House). For over 3 seasons, House/Cameron was pretty canon ,the chemistry was always ,until the end,amazing, there were subtle scenes,glances,the eye!sex as we call it,that pull ,the understanding, sexual tension and a beautiful story waiting to happen,nothing forced,something that grew from the first episode of the first season. In the end it (and we ,the fans) got nothing,it got no story,it was a lot like sex without the orgasm ,foreplay that lead to nowhere and jumped straight to the “bye bye,I’m going home”. All it got was the echo,the memory of distant promises from everyone including David Shore and Katie Jacobs, a kiss that was never discussed and that was ,probably on purpose, set in a context that allowed it to mean nothing in the end. Most of all,in the end, all it (and we) got was a farewell scene that had a lot of soul and the confession that came too late,at a point where Cameron faced the new canon House,a House who probably never cared about her,a House who didn’t experience the first 3 seasons. I wish this would have happened in season 3 when he was still the House i loved ,the House who had a connection with her and I wish it would have taken their relationship to the next level in a far less soap-opera-ish way than the Huddy, with far less accent on it, just glimpses,something,anything,even short lived.
All that is left are broken promises, no fulfillment, an empty spot where an amazing character used to be and the disappointment and anger caused by a bunch of producers,writers and executives who decided that only one small group in a fandom is to be taken into consideration even though this is a business and in a business one should take all customers into consideration.

Huddy is stupid, the whole backstory now makes no sense because the first seasons had nothing of that,it’s all forced and it takes away from what the show used to be,the ratings will drop and it will die but I don’t care,I don’t want to care anymore.

Hugh Laurie,you’ll never read this but you disappointed me too, maybe now you really only care about the money and fame or are too tired to realize what is going on in your show.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on 17/11/2009 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.